Skip to content

Net Zero Technical Committee

The role of the Net Zero Technical Committee (TC) is to assist the CHBA Net Zero Energy Housing Council (NZC) in an advisory capacity to review, consider and make recommendations on the development and implementation of the Net Zero Home Labelling Program. The TC holds monthly meetings to support the ongoing development of the Program Requirements, including the development and alignment of new applications of the Program, such as Renovations, Indoor Air Quality (IAQ), MURBs/Mid-density and neighbourhoods. The committee reviews all proposed Change Requests submitted by CHBA members and determines which should be approved.

The Net Zero Technical Committee is made up of industry experts from across Canada. The 12 voting members are listed below.

Additionally, non-voting ex-officio representatives from each of the following government organizations have a seat on the Net Zero Technical Committee.

Natural Resources Canada, Canadian Centre for Housing Technology
Natural Resources Canada, CanmetENERGY
Natural Resources Canada, Local Energy Efficiency Partnerships
Natural Resources Canada, Office of Energy Efficiency

Call for Applications

Currently there are no open seats for voting members on the Net Zero Technical Committee. Should a position become available, a call for applications will be announced via the Net Zero News. Not subscribed to the Net Zero News? Email

Net Zero Technical Committee Members

Angela Bustamante
Amelie Caron
Arthur Lo
Derek Satnik

Angela Bustamante (Chair)
Director of Technical Services and Builder Services,
Building Knowledge Canada Inc.

Amelie Caron
Ecosynergy Inc.

Arthur Lo
Owner & Founder,
Insightful Healthy Homes

Derek Satnik (Past Chair)
Vice President of Technologies,
s2e Technologies Developments Inc.

Gary Hamer
Haitao Yu
Peter Darlington
Ron Isaac

Gary Hamer (Past Chair)
Residential Specialist Engineer,
BC Hydro

Haitao Yu
Lead. R&D,
Landmark Group of Companies

Peter Darlington
Solar Homes Inc.

Ron Isaac
Director, Sustainability
Empire Communities

Salvatore Ciarlo
Stephen Magneron
Wil Beardmore

Ryan Kelly
R&D Engineering,
Efficiency Nova Scotia

Salvatore Ciarlo
Technical Services and Codes and Standards Director,
Owens Corning Canada

Stephen Magneron
Ontario Manager,
Homesol Building Solutions

Wil Beardmore
Bluewater Energy Inc.