Association Leadership Awards Banner

2021 Association Leadership Awards

(Nomination period now closed)

About the CHBA Association Leadership Awards

Each year, the Canadian Home Builders’ Association recognizes the outstanding work of dedicated volunteer members – as well as the leadership shown by our local and provincial HBAs and their EOs – through its national Association Leadership Awards Program.

HBAs and members work hard all year to build a strong community: members generously volunteer their time and association staff work tirelessly. Not just to strengthen our association at all three levels, but also to give back to the cities, towns, and neighbourhoods across Canada.

As an association, we are proud of our accomplishments and the professionalism of our industry. It's important that we take full advantage of every opportunity promote our achievements and to give accolades to the leaders that ensure our association is recognized as the voice of Canada's residential construction industry!

Who can apply: Local and Provincial HBA Presidents, Local and Provincial Executive Officers, Members of the CHBA National Board of Directors

Application deadline: February 26th

How to submit: Email completed applications to Khadija Cutcher ( For the Award of Honour, HBAs can simply send an email to Khadija with the names and companies of nominees (and indicate whether they are builder/renovator/developer members or "other").

2021 Awards categories

(see below for entry forms)

Community Service Award (goes to an HBA)
HBA of the Year
Member of the Year
Executive Officer of the Year
Award of Honour (goes to two members from each association)

2021 Winners

Member of the Year – Doug Tarry
HBA of the Year – West End HBA
Executive Officer of the Year – Stu Niebergall
Community Service Award – CHBA-Central Interior

Community Service Award

(click here for entry form)

To recognize a local or provincial HBA for their community service or charitable projects that demonstrate the commitment of the housing industry to making a difference in the quality of life in their communities.


  • All Local and Provincial HBAs are eligible to receive this award
  • Community Service and/or Charitable Projects referenced in entries must be for initiatives undertaken in 2020, and may be supported by community/charitable activities that were initiated prior to 2020 that continued throughout 2020.

HBA of the Year Award

(click here for entry form)

To recognize overall excellence by an HBA during 2020 in delivering a strong and positive voice for the housing industry, and in supporting the business success of members and their ability to provide affordability, quality and choice in housing for consumers.


  • Local and Provincial HBAs are eligible for this award.
  • This award may not be won by a Local or Provincial HBA in consecutive years.

Member of the Year

Note: This award has no application form. It is awarded by Association leadership.


To recognize an individual who has truly made a difference at the national level of CHBA through their dedication and outstanding service during their tenure as a CHBA member.


  • Member of CHBA for a minimum of 2 consecutive years prior to the year of nomination.
  • Never recognized previously as a recipient of the CHBA Member of the Year, Beaver or Maple Leaf Awards (both now retired awards).
  • Not serving currently as National President, First Vice-President or Second Vice-President.

Executive Officer of the Year

(click here for entry form)

To recognize an Executive Officer who has demonstrated excellence as the chief staff officer of an HBA, and who has effectively worked with volunteer leaders to create a strong and positive voice for the housing industry, and led the HBA to effectively support the business success of members. The nominee will have shown support for national-level activities through CHBA’s Executive Officers’ Council.


  • All Executive Officers from local or provincial HBAs
  • Executive Officers who have been in their position for a minimum of 2 years
  • Executive Officers cannot be a winner of this award in consecutive years

Award of Honour Certificates

**easy application**

To provide national-level recognition for dedicated members who have promoted the mission and objectives of the Association at the local/provincial level.

Provincial and Local HBAs may nominate one individual from a new home builder/renovator/developer member company, and one individual from any other category of membership. (Maximum two names per HBA).

Local and Provincial HBAs are encouraged to nominate individuals based on the following:

  • Personal Involvement
  • Achievements
  • Length of Service

How to Apply

There is no entry form. Simply email members' names for the Award of Honour directly to The CHBA National Office will mail your local association the certificates.